Skip to Content

Best Books Set in Kentucky

Every state is known for something. As you work your way through the list, don't miss the best books set in Kentucky.

Kentucky is a southeastern state bounded by the Ohio River in the north and the Appalachian Mountains in the east, with Frankfort as the state capital. The state's largest city, Louisville, is home to the Kentucky Derby, the renowned horse race held at Churchill Downs on the first Saturday in May.

The race is preceded by a 2-week festival and celebrated in the Kentucky Derby Museum year-round.

Best Books Set in Kentucky

Sale
The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek: A Novel
  • Richardson, Kim Michele (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek

Author: Kim Michele Richardson

The bestselling historical fiction novel from Kim Michele Richardson is a novel following Cussy Mary, a packhorse librarian, and her quest to bring books to the Appalachian community she loves, perfect for readers of William Kent Kreuger and Lisa Wingate. The perfect addition to your next book club!

Sale
Icy Sparks (Oprah's Book Club)
  • Rubio, Gwyn Hyman (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)

Icy Sparks

Author: Gwyn Hyman Rubio

Narrated by a grown-up Icy, the book chronicles a difficult, but ultimately hilarious and heartwarming journey, from her first spasms to her self-acceptance as a young woman. Curious about life beyond the hills, talented, and energetic, Icy learns to cut through all barriers—physical, mental, and spiritual—in order to find community and acceptance.

RELATED:  Best Books Set in Colorado

The Sugar Maple Grove
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Espy, John (Author)

The Sugar Maple Grove

Author: John E. Espy

In early twentieth century Van Lear, Kentucky, miners in a conscripted coal town go down to work in the shaft only to come back up in pieces.

Company-hired detectives and preachers terrorize the workforce, their women and widows, and children into submission with threats of violence and eternal damnation while the Knights subject blacks to acts of unspeakable violence.

Eden Hill
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Higgs, Bill (Author)

Eden Hill

Author: Bill Higgs

Nothing seems to change in Eden Hill, Kentucky, and that’s just fine with Virgil T. Osgood. He’s been content to raise his family and run the only service station in town. But when a new station is set to open right across the road from Virgil’s pumps, he suddenly faces obstacles in his career, his marriage, and his self-worth that he’s never even dreamed of.

The Patron Saint Of Liars
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Patchett, Ann (Author)
by 

The Patron Saint Of Liars

Author: Ann Patchett

In 1992, celebrated novelist Ann Patchett launched her remarkable career with the publication of her debut novel, The Patron Saint of Liars. On this 25th anniversary, read the best-selling book that is “beautifully written a first novel that second- and third-time novelists would envy for its grace, insight, and compassion”.

RELATED:  Best Books Set in Hawaii

St. Elizabeth's, a home for unwed mothers in Habit, Kentucky, usually harbors its residents for only a little while. Not so Rose Clinton, a beautiful, mysterious woman who comes to the home pregnant but not unwed, and stays. She plans to give up her child, thinking she cannot be the mother it needs.

Now that you've completed the list of best books set in this state, why not check out some others? Here are the Best Books Set in All 50 States.

DOWNLOAD AND PRINT BOOKS SET IN ALL 50 STATES

Click here to download the printable. It has a list of books in all 50 states including the Best Books Set in Kentucky.

If you enjoyed this list, I have a monthly membership for parents and educators that want to teach or supplement lessons with shows and movies.

“I absolutely love sharing movies with my kids as a way to teach them valuable lessons. It's like this awesome bonding experience where we all snuggle up on the couch with some popcorn, and I get to see their little faces light up with curiosity. Whether it's a classic with timeless morals or a new animated flick with hidden gems of wisdom, it's a fantastic way to impart important life lessons in a fun and engaging way. Plus, the post-movie discussions are priceless – hearing their take on the characters and the story adds a whole new dimension to our family time.” –a Homeschooling parent

RELATED:  Best Books Set in Maryland

With Homeschooling with Shows and Movies membership, you will get resources every month, including:

  • List of This Month’s Suggested Themes
  • List of Monthly Observances
  • List Of Movies for Unit Study
  • Unit Study Resource
  • Seasonal Activities (minimum of three)
  • (BONUSES) Resources for you, the teacher

These resources are worth it if you'd like to easily incorporate shows and movies into your homeschooling.

Grab your membership here.

Related Posts:

Further Reading About the State:

 

Sharing is caring!